Our Daily Blog

discoveries after the wedding bells

Weekend Food Choices Week 22: Dessert can make Scrooge Smile

After a morning of window-shopping last weekend, hubby and I took Tat out for lunch and it finally occurred to me that Christmas is almost here!

I wasn’t myself last weekend, a little grumpy, if I may say so myself. I even wanted to stay in bed a little longer at the expense of breakfast…*tsk, tsk* so unlike me.

But it was nothing that a delicious dessert couldn’t fix…

When hubby asked where I wanted to have lunch, I decided I wasn’t in the mood for any surprises; I wanted to eat somewhere familiar… so we headed for C2.

Although we’ve eaten at C2 in Shang and in Rockwell before, it was our first time to eat at their branch at the Megamall Atrium. I noticed that their menu looked different and our server told us that it was indeed new and that they had some new dishes as well…so much for familiarity i thought…

The one thing I liked about the branch of C2 in Megamall was that they had a very friendly and efficient staff. When we asked for water in the middle of our meal, our request was granted right away and as our server was pouring us a drink, he asked how we were enjoying our meal. I know that doesn’t sound much, but the question seemed to be a genuine gesture and well timed too. Don’t you just find it annoying when servers interrupt a merry group discussion to ask how you are, or do so repeatedly in one course of your meal? It was nothing like that at C2. Service was great!


Adobong Sitaw

Tat wanted to try this. I think it’s one of C2’s new dishes, but I didn’t find this to my liking. The sauce was gravy-like and not what I expected of adobo. Although the bagnet that was mixed in the dish was actually good and crunchy, it didn’t really carry the dish to a better level. This was the first and will probably be the last time we would order this dish.

Sizzling Bulalo Steak
Hubby and I have always been frustrated about Rojonet (a restaurant in Tagaytay that served delicious bone marrow) closing down, so we’ve been on a look out for a decent substitute. C2’s sizzling bulalo is pretty good with its tender beef shank meat but still, it just doesn’t take the place of Rojonet.

Tortang Alimasag
Now, this dish was pretty good! It was packed with crabmeat and drizzled with a sweet chili sauce that complimented the seafood’s flavor.

Nearing the end of our meal, we were approached by one of the staff to make sure we were doing ok. She suggested that if we were interested in ordering dessert, we should try their bibingka soufflé, and so we did.

I remember having bibingka during the holidays when i was younger. We would check out the tables set up near church, lined with various array of sweets, and among the things we never failed to buy were puto bumbong and bibingka. I always felt extremely excited when Christmas was just a few weeks away.

The mention of bibingka reminded me that the holidays are just around the corner!

Bibingka Souffle

The light and fluffy cake was deliciously whipped, perfectly browned, and lined with salted egg and quezo de bola at the bottom. A scoop of this, drizzled with the smooth custard siding would definitely make any scrooge smile.

I was actually craving for some coffee after the dessert but hubby and Tat were already geared up for some shopping and i wasn’t about to keep them waiting. After all, i was already in a good mood after the sugar rush…

…yes, the holiday season is finally here!

December 1, 2009 - Posted by | Gastronomic experience, Meandering, Weekend Food Choices | ,

16 Comments »

  1. Goodness: but that souffle looks so fluffy! While I like the food at C2, I agree that the adobong sitaw leaves a lot to be desired. I won’t say no to the tortang alimasag, though. 😀

    Comment by Midge | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Midge, the souffle was a delicious twist to the classic bibingka. It’s definitely a must try!

    Comment by mrs lavendula | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  3. yes, must try the bibingka souffle! yummy! 🙂

    Comment by dyanie | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  4. i LOOOOOVVVEE their bibingka souffle!!! 🙂

    Comment by ula | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  5. we’ve tried C2’s bibingka souffle a few times already and i agree that it’s a perfect ending to tummy-filling pinoy feast. 😀

    Comment by docgelo | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  6. That bibingka souffle looks dreamy. Will try C2 soon, if only for this dessert.

    Comment by Dea | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  7. Hi Dyanie, Ula, Doc and Dea! It looks like we have a group of dessert loving people here…and that includes me! =)

    Comment by mrs lavendula | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  8. Wow… the Souffle is enormous!!! And the bulalo picture just made me hungry… ;D

    Comment by cza | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  9. Mmm, all the food looks wonderful, but I especially like the steak and souffle. I can’t get over how nice and high the souffle rose.

    Comment by Palidor | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  10. I would love some of that Bulalo Steak and the bibingka souffle is amazing! I’ll have to tell my mom about C2 – she and my titas love to go to new restaurants.

    Comment by Tangled Noodle | December 3, 2009 | Reply

  11. Hi cza, Palidor and Tangled Noodle! the bibingka souffle is delicious, a very innovative recreation of the classic treat!

    Comment by mrs lavendula | December 3, 2009 | Reply

  12. wow what a meal!! you have a nice blog!!

    Comment by 3hungrytummies | December 5, 2009 | Reply

    • Welcome to our blog 3hungrytummies! We hope you visit us again soon!

      Comment by mrs lavendula | December 6, 2009 | Reply

  13. been wanting to try their souffle

    Comment by gourmandtales | December 13, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Gourmandtales! the souffle is a must try =)

      Comment by mrs lavendula | December 13, 2009 | Reply

  14. […] The mango and mascarpone gave this souffle good flavors but i thought that the souffle could be a little more fluffier like the one at C2. […]

    Pingback by Weekend Food Choices Week 54: Staycation « Our Daily Blog | June 21, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment