Our Daily Blog

discoveries after the wedding bells

Post Holiday Musings

I kicked off the holidays by loading my playlist with Christmas songs and making my Christmas list (which, by the way, i have not done in years!). I was so psyched about the joyful season and was determined to enjoy it just like the good old days

My temporary (but hopefully permanent for the next 3 years) schedule proved to be a delight as i realized how good it was to have a normal life, and by that i meant an 8 hour work day and day being daytime!

We spent Christmas eve out as has been our custom since i bawled like a poor kid on my first Christmas as a mrs because there was no noche buena…and because i’ve always wanted to replicate how mommy used to prepare Christmas eve dinner, we always end up going to a buffet

I’ve always thought myself fortunate growing up in a home that made a big deal of Christmas.

the “ber” months always ushered in a tinge of excitement as we put up the Christmas tree and saw gifts piling up under the tree as Christmas eve approached

the day before Christmas always meant lounging with my siblings and keeping away from the kitchen where mom would work her magic

and as 12 o’clock ushered in Christmas day, we would gather around the tree and take turns opening our gifts…with an amateur photo shoot each time a present was opened

faces always flushed with all the laughing during the gift opening ceremony we excitedly head to the table where we would enjoy a feast and always have enough left overs to feed a couple of families

Those were definitely good memories!

and now that i’m starting a family of my own, i’m happy that i can share some of that Christmas enthusiasm i learned while growing up

What Christmas tradition do you cherish the most?

January 8, 2011 - Posted by | Affair to remember, Gastronomic experience | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Hi Mitzi! Happy New Year! šŸ™‚

    Wow nasa Marriott pala kayo! šŸ™‚ Natakam ako sa cold seafood! šŸ˜€

    Comment by dyanie | January 10, 2011 | Reply

  2. Happy New Year! Glad to see you’re up and blogging! šŸ˜€

    (I was drooling over your century egg shot!)

    Comment by Midge | January 11, 2011 | Reply

  3. hi Mitzi, I can relate about the Noche Buena bit… I too was sooo used to staying up and eating from dinner time all the way to Noche Buena! But when I spent my first christmas with my hubbys family, I was very disappointed that they just slept thru it šŸ˜¦ Now, we know better… NOche Buena my side… and NYE sa in-laws ko! hehehe

    Comment by ula | January 11, 2011 | Reply

  4. Happy New Year Dyanie, Midge and Ula!

    Ula, im so glad to hear i’m not alone in my sentiments! I hope you had a great time with your family =) have a good year ahead!

    Comment by mrs lavendula | January 13, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment