Our Daily Blog

discoveries after the wedding bells

Care to try a New Dessert Cafe?

Hubby and I were on our way home after a filling dinner when we saw this

We were a couple of steps past the storefront when we did an about face almost in sync.

Gelatissimo is an Australian gelato company that boasts of offering a real taste of Italia.

I do love gelato and often times prefer it to ice cream because it offers more intense flavors. And because gelato is served at a slightly warmer temperature, i get to appreciate a creamy mouthful without the fear brain freeze.

As it was the soft opening of Gelatissimo, only half of the display freezer was filled with wonderfully colored gelato

but that was of course enough to make me drool

They happily gave us free scoops of the gelato flavors that we wanted to try and after tasting a couple of flavors, I ended up buying a cup…my usual
Lime Gelato

After getting our small cups of our favorite flavors, we explored the gelato café and found an interesting spot at the back!

Cool love seat don’t you think?! If only it wasn’t directly beside the bathroom door… *snicker* …lets remember they’re on their soft opening so this probably was not meant to be here (i hope)!

You can order your gelato in a cone or cup. I would have gotten a cone but I realized that it could be a little challenging to eat Gelatissimo on a cone with their a generous scoop.

You can get your gelato in 3 sizes.

Don’t be fooled with the term “small cup” because two people can actually share it with gelato packed to tower past the cups rim.

Hubby’s Cream Caramel Gelato

Although I must confess, I did finish one cup all by myself but that shouldn’t be a surprise to my friends by now!! I do hope they will maintain their generous serving even when normal operations start!

Next time I think I’d like to try this interesting dessert…

Has any of you ever tried affogato before?

Oh I can’t wait till our next visit to Gelatissimo!

Gelatissimo Cafe
Greenbelt 5
Makati City

January 6, 2010 - Posted by | Gastronomic experience | ,

17 Comments »

  1. parang ang dami ng serving nila ah. ang konti kasi sa gelatone eh (greenbelt3). kelan daw ang normal operations nila?

    Comment by dyanie | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  2. Look like a wonderful place to have gelato! Gosh, I love affogato so much. I want to make it myself now>

    Comment by elra | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  3. YEY! They already have it here in MNL! I love Gelatissimo. During my Cebu visit last November 2009, I’ve been to this place 3x 2 days! LOL.

    Can’t wait to try this out in GB5 😀

    Thanks for the heads-up.

    Comment by dyosa | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  4. i used to see their spot in g5 with their colorful tarpaulin for several months and now they’re finally open! we’ve sampled gelatone, amici and dezaato pan’s gelato so we have to find time to drop by g5 for gelatissimo!:D
    how much is their large cup? large talaga ang tinanong! hahaha..

    Comment by docgelo | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  5. Funny how seeing gelato on a full stomach can make you hungry all over again. Ha, ha! It is by far my fave frozen treat. This looks great!

    Comment by Lori | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  6. yummy! saan ito?

    Comment by jean mich | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  7. i like gelato more than ice cream. its more intensely flavored and it doesnt melt as fast as ice cream. i like Pazzo’s and Pagliacci’s gelati especially Gianduja (Hazelnut). Ang layo naman nyan, i live in the boondocks of quezon city pa but i’m definitely gonna try em out if we’re in Makati. 🙂

    Comment by urbanmudra | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  8. ay i forgot, i have tried affogato. i think you’ll like it doc Mitzi. its hot and cold then sweet from the gelato then a bit bitter kick from the espresso. its like rootbeer float but hot.

    Comment by urbanmudra | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  9. hi dyanie, the lady at the counter said they’ll be in their normal operation before the start of Feb.

    hi dyosa! yeah i was told they opened in Cebu before they opened this one. i would not have blamed you for going 3x in 2 days! its really good!!

    hi doc, ive tried the gelato in amici and angelati but for some reason i think gelatissimo tastes better! maybe it was the free all you want scoops that got me! hahaha! Gosh, sorry i dont remember how much the large cup was, do you dyosa?!

    lori, it is a funny thought how that could happen but that night (because we were so full) we had not had dessert, but i guess after our walk from greenbelt 3 to 5 my tummy was ready for dessert! hehehe!

    hi jean mich! how are you? hope you had a great holiday season! gelatissimo is in greenbelt 5.

    urban mudra, you should try their gelato perfectly creamy and with a generous serving too! thanks for the description of the affogato, now im raring to go back!

    Comment by mrs lavendula | January 8, 2010 | Reply

  10. 32 flavors of gelati?!? I knew my friends and I should have stepped in when we passed by!

    And, much as I’m not supposed to have any coffee, I’ll gladly have the affogato. Espresso goes so well with gelato! 🙂

    Comment by Midge | January 8, 2010 | Reply

  11. OMG. Looks fabulous….I love gelato! It’s SO rich, and I love the simple yet classic flavors they have….please try pistachio for me!!

    Comment by sophia | January 8, 2010 | Reply

  12. Gelatissimo is, hands-down, the best gelato place I have tried — EVER. No joke, they are really that good. Thick, rich, creamy — everything my waistline DOESNT need right now post holiday weight-gain. LOL! But I am glad they are now in Manila (after being tucked away at The Terraces in Cebu). It is certainly about time!

    Comment by Rain | January 11, 2010 | Reply

  13. Hi Midge, oh you should go back and try their gelato, they are delicious!

    Rain, i so agree! for a while i thought that my opinion about Gelatissimo just came from my enthusiasm to try something new but after you and dyosa have attested to how delicious their gelato is, i can rest assured i was not halucinating. truly a delicious dessert!

    Sophia, i will try the pistachio for you the next time we visit!

    Comment by mrs lavendula | January 11, 2010 | Reply

  14. i’ve never tasted gelato here in the philippines. parang namamahalan ako. he! he! but when we were in italy, 3 times a day ata ako kumakain. super addictive and super sarap talaga! heavenly! i guess i must try the ones here in manila! pero i hope i won’t be disappointed. 🙂

    Comment by kg | January 11, 2010 | Reply

    • kumareng grace, you must tell us if we’ve been dupped by thinking the gelato here in manila is delicious…but if that’s the case, italy is such an expensive alternative…hehehe!

      Comment by mrs lavendula | January 11, 2010 | Reply

  15. […] the gelato places in Manila, i still think Gelatissimo serves the smoothest classic flavored gelato. But if you’re into unique gelato creations, Bar […]

    Pingback by Rain Rain Go Away « Our Daily Blog | March 7, 2011 | Reply

  16. i hope that there will be a gelatissimo branch here in general santos city…..cause i really really love it…..

    Comment by Shane Opena | May 14, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment