Our Daily Blog

discoveries after the wedding bells

One Blogging Nation

I woke up early, beating the alarm clock by an hour. Unlike most days when I would groggily open my eyes and beg for a couple of minutes more in slumber, I was wide-awake.

A lot of wonderful things were happening lately, almost all at the same time, strengthening the words that I live by…”good things come to those who wait”.

click above for a good laugh

The day’s errands seem to keep my mind off the main event of the day. I was a bit behind schedule but thanks to my husband, who repeatedly tells me that not being able to follow my plan to the minute does not mean the end of the world, I was still cheery.

We got to the Peta Theater earlier than most. The big banner out front got me all excited.

Finding the image of our site in the collage of blogs that made up the banner confirmed my status as a finalist.

I was surprised a couple of weeks ago when Dyanie informed me that I was a finalist in the Food & Beverage category of the Philippine Blog Awards 2009. I had almost forgotten about our site’s entry. With all my favorite food sites that would definitely qualify for the contest, I obviously had no chance of being short-listed. I was wrong.

The lobby was lined with booths much like in the PPS conventions. At the end was a buffet for the finalists and their guests.

The lobby was getting crowded with bloggers and sponsors when hubby and I found our place near the registration.

As we were waiting for the queue to enter the theater, I heard someone refer to one of hubby’s favorite humor blog, Hay!Men!. Realizing that the fellow at the registration was one of the authors of the outrageously funny blog which documents the criteria of being a tunay na lalake (a true man), I approached him and asked “ikaw ba ang tunay na lalake?” and asked if i could have my picture taken with him.

I think he must have been a little embarrassed by their popularity!! *giggle*

As the program started, there was a sense of excitement in the air. A good mix of people was in the theater, young and not so young alike, pinoys and a couple of foreigners.

We found our seats in the middle section of the theater.

Little did we know that seated around us were bloggers who would be proclaimed as that night’s winners. Beside me was the author of Fire Quinito who won Best Sports Blog, at the end of our row was the chic author of Who is Elyoo?, who won Best Fashion Blog, and behind us was the author of My Sari-Sari Store who won best Foreign Blog.

The awards night was live on line. Hosts were Erika Tapalla and RJ Ledesma

The theme of nationalism was played throughout the whole event. From the jeepney shaped trophies, to the funny videos played in between awards to the moving speech by Gang Badoy, one of the women behind Rock-ed, every element paid tribute to the pinoy blogger as a force that brings a nation together.

The event started with the awarding of the top blogs judged to be the most influential to the youth.

A couple of my favorite blogs were included.

Up on stage were the authors of Hay!Men! and when asked how they felt about the award they responded with silence.

the crowd was cheering with friendly mocking when someone from the audience shouted “ang tunay na lalaki ay hindi nagsasalita” and everyone started laughing! It was hilarious!

Our category was finally announced

“and the winner for the Food & Beverage category for the Philippine Blog Awards 2009 is …Table for Three

Hubby and I were not really expecting a win that evening and loosing to one of my favorite food blog was definitely not bad.

With that over, I could finally enjoy the evening, a fun one at that!

October 14, 2009 - Posted by | Affair to remember, Meandering | ,

9 Comments »

  1. hey these are really great photos! 🙂

    Comment by jayvee f. | October 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. being in the list is a winner na! imagine of all food blogs here, kasama kayo dba? panalo! 🙂

    great shots! 🙂

    ps: aaawww na mention pa name ko hehe 😉

    Comment by dyanie | October 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. my wife and i were talking to sidney snoeck (my sarisari store) at the lobby for more a while before PBA began.
    i really adore that belgian guy’s blog about pinoys and our traditions. we’re facebook buddies too 😀
    we were seated 2 seats from him, same row, but i was too shy to greet you and your husband. i did recognize you though when you pass by the josiah’s spread.
    my blog also lost in family & living category nonetheless, it was really amazing being a finalist.

    Comment by docgelo | October 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi Dyanie! im glad you’re feeling better and back to blogging. thanx for the nice words.

    Hi Doc! gosh, i wish we could have met you and your wife at the PBA, maybe in the next event =)

    Comment by mrs lavendula | October 16, 2009 | Reply

  5. Wow, when will I rub elbows with these “heavyweights”?

    Comment by pinoyapache | October 16, 2009 | Reply

    • hi pinoy apache, welcome to ODB! i hope you don’t mean “heavyweights” literally coz all these food blogging is definitely taking a toll on our physique! hahaha!

      Comment by mrs lavendula | October 21, 2009 | Reply

  6. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

    Comment by Savannah | October 17, 2009 | Reply

  7. HayMen bids farewell but left his 5 bastards:

    1) Digs! Tunay na Lalake
    2) Tigas Lang
    3) Ha! Gays! Tunay na Lalakwe
    4) Tunay na Babae
    5) Veyklas! Kaibigan ng Tunay na Lalake

    Comment by kevin | October 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

