Our Daily Blog

discoveries after the wedding bells

My Sugar and Coffee Fix

The sun is finally out!

I do hate gloomy weather. Its been almost 2 weeks of clouds and rain and the other day, i could not help but look for a pick me up-er so i headed to a favorite cafe of mine.

I had wanted to get a really sinful chocolate cake but my conscience got the better of me so i settled with this glistening mini pie

Icings’ walnut pie looked tempting in the cafe display. I happily ordered one because the filling looked like it could satisfy my sweet tooth.

And would be perfect with a good cup of coffee!

I do love Icings coffee, good beans that are siphon brewed. The aroma is just heavenly when they pour the coffee in your cup

I like cafe because its cozy and service is pretty good!

I remember once, i came in and asked for iced latte. The barista gave me a puzzled look for a couple of seconds and then went to the bar with a determined look. After a few minutes, i was served a tall glass of light colored chilled drink. I took a sip and thought, “wow, this is delicious” and then… “wait a second, this is not coffee, this is tea!” I would have of course complained about the mix up except the drink was too delicious! I then realized the reason for the puzzled look of the barista. He had probably heard wrong and thought i wanted iced tea latte. Obviously, this drink was not even listed in their menu and the barista just went ahead and made the drink he thought i wanted! Cool (only because i got a better drink than what i had wanted! hahaha!)!

Back to my walnut pie…

I happily dug into the warm pie. The delicious crust was perfect with the sweet sticky filling which was surprisingly loaded with more walnuts than i had expected.

Warm walnut pie and deliciously brewed coffee…yum! That definitely fixed me up well!

September 13, 2009 - Posted by | Gastronomic experience, Meandering | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Ooh! That’s a lot of walnuts; definitely a great alternative to chocolate cake! 😀

    Comment by Midge | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Ooooooooh pie *drooling* that looks like fatty deliciousness!

    Comment by Heavenly Housewife | September 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. It’s nice that you settled for a mini-pie instead, ma’am LOL. And, yes, I was glad also that the sun is out again although I had a grueling time doing errands yesterday under the heat of the sun ha-ha!

    Comment by Fine Life Folk | September 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi Midge and Heavenly Housewife! I was definitely happy with the equally fatty alternative! hahaha!

    Hi FLF! sorry to hear about “hot” day yesterday! Its a good excuse to get a delicious chilled beverage 😉

    Comment by mrs lavendula | September 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

