Our Daily Blog

discoveries after the wedding bells

Dining Out Alone

I’ve never had trouble eating alone in public. Maybe it has something to do with being an only child for a long time… but i really don’t feel the need to have someone beside me to blend in with the dining crowd. This comes in handy when hubby goes out of town…

These are my favorite dining alone spots of the week:
(documented by my htc desire -forgive the lack of clarity and focus in some of the photos)

Breakfast at Cafe Breton

Marrakesh Galette
although from what i know, a galette is supposed to be paper thin and cooked only on one side, this dish is delicious just the same because it has everything i like, spicy Moroccan sausage, sweet onions, tomato provencal, and fried egg (which was not exactly cooked the way i want it -my fault as i forgot to specify to the server not to cook the yolk -just that and it would have been perfect!)

Brunch at Ya Kun Yaya

Kaya Toast Set Meal
This comes with 2 pieces of toast with kaya, chunks of butter that started to melt and drip (yum!), 2 perfectly soft boiled egg, and a cup of kopi c (as opposed to the kopi o, i have my coffee with a bit of color -to the request of my pretty dentist because i keep giving her a hard time during my prophy hahaha! ok too much info…moving on…)

oh, did i mention i love ya kun kaya for their perfectly soft boiled eggs…drizzled with thick soy and sprinkled with a bit of pepper…i keep wondering if the person at the counter will give me a disapproving look if i order extra eggs…

Lunch at Starbucks

my regular semi dry cappuccino paired with chicken and turkey tuscan sandwich

you could say these are my comfort food. I love the sandwich’s sundried tomatoes which gives it a tangy twist and apple bits which gives it a good crunchy texture

Dinner at Kuretake

seated at my fave corner booth with a bowl of chirashi sushi -fresh seafood and delicious japanese rice, finished off with warm miso soup and fresh fruits!

…just goes to show that dining out could be perfect even if you’re all by yourself…

Where is your favorite place to dine in when you’re alone?

August 4, 2011 - Posted by | Gastronomic experience | , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I love to eat at Cafe Mary Grace and Cibo whether I am with someone or just by myself.

    Comment by Mommy Marie | August 5, 2011 | Reply

  2. you’re not alone; you’re in the company of great foods, doc! :)

    Comment by docgelo | August 5, 2011 | Reply

  3. Hi Mommy Marie, i so agree! Cafe Mary Grace and Cibo offers really good comfort food…i should add them to my list next time.

    docgelo, good point there! =)

    Comment by mrs lavendula | August 7, 2011 | Reply

  4. coffee bean and tea leaf…great salads!

    Comment by elay | August 9, 2011 | Reply

  5. No qualms also of eating alone. The body needs nourishment.

    Go ahead and order your extra eggs. No one will bat an eyelash at you.

    Comment by Richard | August 9, 2011 | Reply

  6. I’m used to dining alone. One of the perks (?) of being single. My favorite dine-alone spots are Oliver’s Sandwiches and Bo’s Coffee. :)

    Comment by rins | August 15, 2011 | Reply

  7. I love eating alone too, give me time to reflect, even better if I have either the newspaper or a good book with me.

    Comment by Eileen | August 15, 2011 | Reply

  8. [...] The first time i heard of Kuretake, years back, i had to ask the Rockwell concierge where it was because i just couldn’t find it. I found out the main entrance is outside the mall, although there is a back door opening into one of the side alleys of the mall (beside L’occitane) . After i found it, i became a regular, especially when i need comfort food when Hubby is away. [...]

    Pingback by Solo Food Adventure: Sashimi & Sushi Craving « Our Daily Blog | November 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

